Polk County election filing ends Friday

Published 10:04 pm Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Residents Columbus, Saluda and Tryon have until Friday, July 19 at noon to file for this year’s municipal election.
Filing can be done at the Polk County Board of Elections Office, located on the second floor of the Womack building in Columbus.
The filing fee is $5 with most incumbent board members filing for reelection so far along with a few challengers, especially in Tryon.
The Town of Tryon so far will see the largest race with the mayor seat as well as both council seats contested.
The mayor seat is currently held by Alan Peoples, who has filed for reelection. Jim Wright has also filed to challenge the mayor seat.
For council in Tryon, the seats of Doug Arbogast and Wim Woody are up for reelection with both incumbents filing. The seats held by Arbogast and Woody are being challenged by Bill Crowell, Happy McLeod, Bill Ingham and Billy Moss, who have all filed.
Saluda will also see a race for commissioner as the seats of Johnnie Kinard and George Sweet are being challenged by newcomer Carolyn Ashburn. Kinard and Sweet have also filed for reelection along with incumbent mayor Fred Baisden, who as of Tuesday, July 16 had no challengers.
In Columbus, incumbent mayor Eric McIntyre has filed to retain his seat with no challengers so far.
Incumbent council members Margaret Metcalf and Ricky McCallister have filed to retain their seats.  Josh Denton has also filed to run for council. Incumbent Ernie Kan has not filed for reelection.
Landrum residents have until Aug. 7 at noon to file for city council. The seats of mayor Bob Briggs and the council seats of Jan Horton, Don Smith and Billy Inman are up for reelection this year. This year’s election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox