Tryon council candidates first to file

Published 10:49 pm Sunday, July 7, 2013

The first day of municipal election filing brought six candidates to fill open seats in the Town of Tryon.

Friday, July 5 was the first day to file with Bill Crowell, Happy McLeod and incumbent Tryon commissioner William “Wim” Woody being the first to file at noon.

Later in the day incumbent Tryon Mayor Alan Peoples filed to retain his seat along with Bill Ingham and Billy Moss for Tryon Council seats.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

This year’s municipal election will see several vacant seats, including all three municipal mayors and two council seats each in Tryon and Saluda and three council seats open in Columbus.

Landrum has its mayor seat open as well as three council seats.

Filing will continue until noon on July 19 for Polk County’s towns. No one had yet filed for Columbus, Saluda or Landrum as of press time Friday. Filing will continue in Landrum until Aug. 7 at noon.

This year’s election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Following is a list of open seats for the towns of Columbus and Tryon and cities of Landrum and Saluda:

Town of Columbus: Mayor-Eric McIntyre; Council-Margaret Metcalf; Council-Ernestine Kan and Council-Rick McCallister

City of Landrum: Mayor-Bob Briggs; Council-Jan Horton; Council-Billy Inman and Council-Don Smith.

City of Saluda: Mayor- Fred Baidsen; Council- John Kinard and Council- George Sweet.

Town of Tryon: Mayor- J. Alan Peoples; Council -William B. “Wim” Woody and Council-Douglas Arbogast.