Polk County Community Foundation Awards 2013 scholarships

Published 4:46 pm Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Since 1975, the Polk County Community Foundation has been dedicated to improving the quality of life for all in our community. Assets managed by the Community Foundation now exceed $45 million. The foundation receives charitable donations of all sizes from community members and then distributes grants to local nonprofits, educators, as well as scholarships to students.

Many donors to the foundation have chosen to establish scholarship funds for deserving students in order to help make their college dreams come true. The community foundation awards the following scholarships to graduating high school seniors and adults going back to school according to donors’ wishes:

A Leg Up Scholarship, Jack H. Albertson Educational Award, John A. Albertson Educational Award, Francis Pickens Bacon and Agnes Doyle Bacon Memorial Scholarship, Margery W. Bain-Franklin Scholarship, Susan P. Barbour Scholarship, Polly C. and Carroll G. Bennett Scholarship, Allan C. & Anne B. Boas Scholarship, Bradley Achievement Award, G. Freeman and Elizabeth M. Brooks Scholarship, P. Henry & Sara Molder Burrus Scholarship, J. Harwood Cochrane Educational Award, John Lewis Craddock Educational Award, Gordon L. Foote Educational Award, Stuart and Margaret L. Forbes Scholarship, Annette W. Hysham Scholarship, Phil J. Hysham Scholarship, Kirby Endowment Fund Back-to-School Scholarship for Adults, Kirby Endowment Scholarship for First Year Students, John G. Landrum, Jr. Educational Award, Mary Evelyn & Harry Laurent Scholarship, James A. & Renée R. McDermott Scholarship,  Hoyt D. & Tyler B. McEntire Scholarship, Nathaniel M. & Constance J. McIntyre Memorial Scholarship,  Jessica Lauren Mills Memorial Scholarship, N. Elizabeth Nash Scholarship, Arthur M. Nelson Scholarship, William F. & Claire B. Nelson Scholarship, R. Shaw Pettigrew Scholarship, Edward E. & Suzanne K. Plumly Scholarship, Polk County Community Foundation Annual Scholarship, Polk County Community Foundation Endowed Scholarship, Polk County Community Foundation Merit Award, Puddin’ Hill Award, Lelia G. Rainey Nursing Scholarship, The Restart Scholarship, Priscilla and Ellis D. Slater Merit Scholarship Award, Dudley Smith Educational Award, David P. & Barbara Stayman Educational Award, G. Mildred Steinbach and John F. Steinbach Scholarship, Tryon Riding & Hunt Club Scholarship, Guilford S. Turner, Jr. Educational Award, Village Support Award, Joseph Anthony & Adair McIntyre Wagner Scholarship, Tony Wallace Scholarship, Jane Hysham Willis Scholarship, N.W. Willis Scholarship, Frances O. & John W. Wilson Restart Scholarship, Robert & Nancy Worsnop Scholarship.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox