TR&HC accepts entries for Charity Jumper Challenge

Published 7:05 pm Tuesday, May 7, 2013

The TR&HC Charity Horse Show, with sponsorship of Ariat and the Farmhouse, will present the $5,000 Charity Jumper Challenge for the third consecutive year in 2013.

Created from the suggestion of Show Chair Jennifer Smith and modeled after the FTI Great Charity Challenge in Wellington, Fla., any Polk or Landrum area non-profit is eligible to submit an application to be included in the event.

Out of the 23 groups who applied last year, eight were chosen to be represented in the class.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The eight non-profits selected for this year’s edition will be randomly paired with a team of two riders to represent them in the Jumper Challenge to create an equal chance for winning. Each pair of riders completes the course ‘relay-style’ providing an exciting competition for the charity members and spectators in attendance.

All of the organizations receive a portion of the prize money with first place receiving a prize of $1,500.

The riders, who are volunteering their time and skills to participate in this event, will receive special awards in thanks for their participation.

The unique multi-charity approach has also allowed the event to assemble a diverse portfolio of charities covering animal rescue, children’s causes, family care, medical support, equestrians, education, the arts and the environment among others.

TR&HC is proud to have Ariat and the Farmhouse as partners in this event once again in 2013, and hope to expand the number of teams as well as increase the prize money offered in future years.

Deadline for receiving applications is May 24. They are available at or by calling the office, 828-863-0480.


2011 winners

First – Thermal Belt Outreach Ministries (Motlow Creek Equestrian Center – Lincoln Russell and Tommy Frick)

Second – Polk Equine Emergency Rescue (Lone Oak Farm – Lincoln Russell and Ashley Conkle)

Third – Tryon Arts and Crafts (Still Creek Farm – Holli Adams and Sara Ketcham)

Fourth – Big Brothers Big Sisters of Polk County (LyNard Hills Farm – Vick Russell and Lily Hahn)

Fifth – Columbus Fire Department (Block House Stables – Mike and Emily Kocher)

Sixth – Tryon Elementary School PTA (Clearview Farm – Jeanne Smith and Hannah Siegel)

Seventh – Carolina Foothills Chamber of Commerce Foundation (Green River Farm – Jennifer and Roger Smith)

Eighth – Children’s Theater Festival (Block House Stables – Kelly and Susie Kocher)


2012 winners

First – Kiwanis Foundation (Lone Oak Farm – Lincoln Russell and Camryn Hulsey)

Second – Tryon Arts and Crafts School (Little Orchard Farm – Ben Rosichan and Lily Hahn Rosichan)

Third – Foothills Equestrian Nature Center (Block House Stables – Kelly Kocher and Carolina Villaneuva-Suarez)

Fourth – St Luke’s Hospital Foundation (Block House Stables – Kelly Kocher and Carolina Villaneuva-Suarez)

Fifth – Tryon Elementary School PTA (Block House Stables – Kelly Kocher and Carolina Villaneuva-Suarez)

Sixth – Big Brothers Big Sisters of Polk County (Still Creek Farm – Megan Millon and Sydney Johnson)

Seventh – Foothills Humane Society (Hobby Horse Farm – Beth Perkins and Amy Barrington)

Eighth – Children’s Theater Festival (Clearview Farm – Jeanne Smith and Hannah Seigel)


– article submitted
by Laura Weicker