Polk County boys capture Western Highlands 2A track championship

Published 6:07 pm Thursday, May 2, 2013


May 1 brought an afternoon full of pride as the Polk County men’s track team dominated 10 of the 18 events on its home track in the 2013 2A Western Highlands Conference Championships. The team took first place in the 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200- meter races as well as the 4×800, 4×400, pole vault and triple jump events. The domination continued with clean sweeps including first, second and third place finishes in the 200, 3200 and pole vault events.

The following Polk athletes were conference champions in an individual event or relay (with number of titles following their names): Collins(3), Matthew Darden(3), Mason Umlauf(2), Morgan Pratt(2), Kevin Angier, Mitchell Brown, Sean Doyle, Eli Hall, Reece Schlabach and Jacob Wolfe.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Polk also grabbed the male and female WHC Most Valuable Runner awards.  Polk’s Jacob Collins won the Men’s 800, 1600 and 3200 meter events and was named WHC Most Valuable Runner. Polk’s Shea Wheeler won the Women’s 800, 3200 and was a member of the first-place 4×800 Relay team and was named Conference Most Valuable Runner.

The Lady Wolverine track team took Conference Runner-Up with only 12 athletes to fill 18 events. Lacee Keller won Coach Wolfe’s “Wolferine Warrior” award for running more miles than any other Polk athlete; scoring in the 4×800, 1600, 3200 and 4×400.

Keller and others unselfishly stepped up to help our short-handed women’s team, many filling events outside their realm of specialty.  The following were Conference Champions in an individual event or relay: Wheeler (3), Keller (2), Autumn Miller(2), Shelby Wells(2), Charlie Bullock, Mary Shannon Eargle and Maggie Phipps.

Team overall scores: Owen 114, Polk 84, Mountain Heritage 35, Madison 2.

The Wolverines are coached by Alan Peoples, Scott Harding, Jenny Wolfe, Amanda Simoncic, Cathy Elliott, Jim McGrane, Dewayne Elliott, Val Simoncic, Carrie Baris, Ben Johnson and Kay McGrane. Qualifying Wolverines will compete Saturday, May 11 at the Western Regional Meet in Bunker Hill, N.C.