Glassy Mountain Fire Department 2012 award recipients

Published 4:48 pm Friday, February 22, 2013


The Glassy Mountain Fire Department named its 2012 award recipients for service to the community.

The 2012 Troy Cecil Pruitt Firefighter of the Year Awards were presented to Jerry Bender of Tigerville, Volunteer of the Year Award and Caleb Palmer of Greenville, Career Firefighter of the Year Award.  The Cadet of the Year Award was presented to Nick Adams of Greer and Officer of the Year Award was presented to Lieutenant Chip Orum also of Landrum. The awards were presented by Chief Bryan Riebe and John Ball, Chairman of the Awards Task Force, during Glassy Mountain Fire Department’s Annual Christmas and Awards Banquet.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“We are very proud of all our staff both career and volunteer, but we are always in need of more firefighters and first responders especially because of the size of our District,” Chief Riebe said. “However, many folks may not know that we also need help from citizens who can provide support to the District such as mechanical, electrical, technical, legal assistance, etc — it doesn’t have to be fighting fires.

If anyone wants more information on how to become part of our team, they should contact me at 864-895-4306 or go to our website at  We have many job opportunities available other than fighting fires.”

– article submitted by Chief Bryan G. Riebe