Fifteen new inductees into Second Wind Hall of Fame

Published 9:10 am Thursday, October 18, 2012

Left to right, front row: Larry Poe, President; Betsy Zeek, Caroline Brown, Marian Bosien, Louise Cochran, Mary Ann Krydynski, Helen Gilbert, Ann Wilkins and Paul Nelson. Back row: Dave Warden, Jim Trunk, Dean Gregory, Theron Goodwin, Alan Batchelder, Patricia Gass and Shelvie Foust. (photo submitted)

Fifteen Thermal Belt volunteers became the newest inductees into the Second Wind Hall (SWHF) of Fame, following a luncheon recently in the Tryon Estates dining room, raising the current total membership to 182.
The three longest serving members of SWHF, who also were present, are Nell Deaver (inducted in 1982), Queenie Thurber and Tah Flack (both in 1984).
Established in 1974, the Second Wind Hall of Fame is a Thermal Belt organization whose mission is to provide recognition of retirees, 60 years and over, for outstanding service to their community.  This is to encourage and provide incentives for other retirees to do likewise.  The objective is to help retirees realize that retirement is an opportunity for continued, and even greater, service to community and mankind.
New members inducted this year, and their sponsor organizations, include: Dave Warden, Foothills Equestrian Nature Center; Dean Gregory, Habitat for Humanity; Marian Bosien, St Luke’s Hospital; Alan Batchelder, Habitat for Humanity; Caroline Ann Brown, Tryon Presbyterian Church; Mary Ellen Krydynski, Habitat for Humanity; Helen Gilbert, Steps to Hope; Theron Goodwin, Habitat for Humanity; Ann Mims Wilkins, Tryon Presbyterian Church; James Truck, Habitat for Humanity; Shelvie Foust, Green Blades Garden Club; Elizabeth (Betsy) Zeek, Tryon Estates Community; Louise Cochran, Columbus Lions Club; Patricia Gass, Tryon Fine Arts Center; and Paul Nelson, by Eloise Johnson and Rotary Club of Tryon.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox