Bartlett, McDermott, Mierop win primary

Published 12:08 am Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Emily Hyder Bartlett, Russell Mierop and Renée McDermott celebrate their wins in the May 8 Democratic primary for Polk County commissioner. (photo by Virginia Walker)

McDermott top vote-getter
Polk County chose Renée McDermott (incumbent), Emily Bartlett and Russell Mierop as Democratic nominees for county commissioner during the primary held Tuesday, May 8, according to unofficial results from the Polk County Board of Elections.
McDermott was the high vote-getter with 1,607 votes. Bartlett received 1,464 votes and Meirop received 1,121 votes.
Rickie McFalls lost to Mierop by 352 votes, with McFalls receiving 769 votes, Ernie Giannini receiving 688 votes and Ritchie “Bubba” Greene receiving 349 votes.
McDermott said she is very grateful to everyone who helped her win the primary.
“I’m real happy and very, very grateful to the folks who helped me, and there were a lot of them,” McDermott said. “I’m hoping everybody will pull for me in November. I will work my hardest to do the best I can for them.”
McDermott won in three of Polk County’s seven precincts: Columbus 2, Green Creek and Tryon. Bartlett came in second in those precincts.
Bartlett also won in three precincts: Columbus 1, Saluda and White Oak. McDermott came in second in those precincts.
Bartlett also said how thankful she is to the people who supported her.
“I’m very happy and very thankful for so many people who supported me,” said Bartlett. “I’m looking forward to the fall.”
McFalls won in Coopers Gap Township, netting 77 votes to McDermott’s 64 votes.
Mierop came in third in Columbus 1, Columbus 2, Green Creek and Tryon. Mierop was fourth in Saluda and White Oak behind McFalls, who came in third in those two precincts. Mierop fell to fifth in Coopers Gap with 37 votes, one vote behind Greene’s 38 votes. Giannini received 29 votes in Coopers Gap.
Mierop thanked his supporters as well.
“I want to thank everybody who supported me and for voting for the young guy,” Mierop said. “I look forward to November. It’s exciting.”
The three Democratic nominees will face Republicans Michael Gage, Keith Holbert and Tom Pack (incumbent) during the general election on Nov. 6 for the three open seats on the Polk County Board of Commissioners.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox