Polk to switch to U.S. House of Representatives District 10

Published 6:26 pm Thursday, April 19, 2012

Although Polk County is currently included in the U.S. House of Representatives District 11, with Heath Shuler (D) as its representative, as of November this year, Polk will be included in District 10, whose seat is currently held by Patrick McHenry (R).
It was mistakenly reported this week that Polk voters help elect a new Congress representative in District 11.
Polk County will be part of a new District 10, which will include the counties of Polk, Rutherford, McDowell, Mitchell, Yancey and Madison.
The former District 11, which Shuler currently represents, included Polk, Henderson, Buncombe, McDowell, Yancey, Madison, Haywood, Jackson, Transylvania, Macon, Swain, Graham, Cherokee and Clay counties.
Republicans vying for the House of Representatives seat for the new District 10 include incumbent McHenry of Hickory, N.C. and challengers Ken H. Fortenberry of Denver, N.C. and Don Peterson of Cramerton, N.C.
Democratic candidates for the District 10 seat include Patsy Keever (D) of Asheville, N.C., Timothy Murphy of Rutherfordton, N.C. and Terry Michelle Bellamy of Asheville.
Shuler is not seeking re-election this year for the District 11 seat.
Early voting for the May primary has begun. Polling places for early voting include the Polk County Board of Elections in Columbus, the Green Creek Family Life Center on Green Creek Drive off of Hwy. 9 and the Mill Spring Fire Department on School Road near Hwy. 9 in Mill Spring.
Polk residents may vote at the board of elections Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. and in Green Creek and Mill Spring Monday through Friday from 1 to 7 p.m.
All three locations will be open on the last day to early vote Saturday, May 5 from 9 a.m. until 1 p.m.
On the regular primary election day, Tuesday, May 8, all Polk’s polling locations will be open.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox