Saturday, Nov. 5 last day for early voting

Published 10:27 am Friday, November 4, 2011

Early voting total at 82 as of Nov. 3

Residents of Polk County’s towns can take advantage of early, one-stop voting today, Friday, Nov. 4 from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and tomorrow from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Early voting is available in the Polk County Board of Elections office on the second floor in the Womack Building in Columbus.

In Columbus, Mayor Eric McIntyre is running unopposed, as are council members Richard Hall and Ernie Kan. Councilman Michael Gage is not seeking re-election, but Ricky McCallister filed for his seat.
Saluda commissioners John Morgan and Leon Morgan are both seeking re-election and are being challenged by Lynn Cass.
In Tryon, Mayor Alan Peoples is running unopposed, but there is a race for two open council seats. Councilman Roy Miller is seeking re-election, challenged by George Baker and Jim Scott. Councilman Austin Chapman is not seeking re-election this year.
In Landrum, incumbents Jon Matheis, Joyce Whiteside and Randy Wohnig are being challenged by Johnny Carruth. Landrum voters will also vote on a referendum this year on whether to allow Sunday alcohol sales in restaurants.
The general election will be held at precinct polling places on Nov. 8.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox