Second Wind Hall of Fame 2011 annual meeting

Published 10:12 am Friday, October 14, 2011

Pictured left to right: Larry Poe, president SWHF; Marie Butler; John Dahlgren; Robert Mischler; Helen Trevathan; Ron Wingo; and Harry Walker. (photo submitted by Larry Poe)

The 2011 annual meeting of the Second Wind Hall of Fame (SWHF) was held on Sept. 30 at Tryon Estates. More than 102 members and guests took part in the banquet meal and ceremony, inducting 12 new community volunteers into the membership.
The mission of SWHF is to recognize the generous efforts of the many volunteers in the Thermal Belt area and to induct into its membership those individuals who are deserving.
To be considered for certification, a volunteer must be retired, be at least 60 years of age, have volunteered for three or more organizations for three years and be sponsored by one of the organizations served. Applications for nominee volunteers can be obtained from SWHF, Box 711, Tryon, NC 28782.
The new members inducted in 2011, and their sponsoring organizations, include: Marie Butler, Hospice of the Carolina Foothills; John Dahlgren, American Red Cross; Shirley Finnie, Tryon Presbyterian Church; Bill Hillhouse, Tryon Episcopal Church; Otis Livingston, Rotary Club of Tryon; Robert Mischler, N.C. Cooperative Extension; Janet Peterson, American Red Cross; Geoffrey Tennant, Columbus Fire Dept.; Helen Trevathan, Columbus Lions Club; Harry Walker, Tryon Estates; Christel Walter, Pacolet Area Conservancy; and Ron Wingo, Rotary Club of Tryon.
Following the ceremony, Ken Shull, president of St Luke’s Hospital, spoke about the current operating condition and progress of the hospital and the plans for new construction. He stated that St Luke’s will remain a locally owned hospital.
– article submitted by Larry Poe

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox