Filing for Polk’s November municipal election ends today

Published 11:06 am Friday, July 15, 2011

Residents in Columbus, Saluda and Tryon wishing to file as candidates in the Polk County municipal elections set for November have until noon today to do so.
As of yesterday afternoon, no one had yet filed for the Tryon council seat currently held by Austin Chapman.
Columbus council member Michael Gage has said he is not seeking re-election.
Eric McIntyre has filed to keep his seat as Columbus mayor, and Tryon Mayor Alan Peoples has also filed for re-election. Current Columbus council members Ernie Kan and Richard Hall have filed for re-election. Ricky McCallister has also filed to run for a council seat.
In Saluda, Incumbent council members John Morgan and Leon Morgan have both filed to keep their seats. They will face newcomer Lynn Cass.
Tryon council member Roy Miller has filed for re-election.
Residents can file at the Polk County Board of Elections, located on the second floor of the Womack building in Columbus, by noon today.
If no one files for Chapman’s Tryon council seat, the deadline to file will be extended. Polk board of election officials said the state board of elections will determine the time period of the extension if need be. No extension will be needed in Saluda or Columbus, as all open seats have at least one candidate.
This year’s municipal election will be held on Nov. 8. Residents have until Oct. 15 to register to vote.
Landrum City Council also has seats open this year, with the filing deadline on Aug. 8. The council seats of Jon Matheis, Randy Wohnig and Joyce Whiteside will be available.
Those wishing to be candidates can file at Landrum City Hall. Landrum residents will have until Oct. 8 to register to vote.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox