Filing begins for Polk town elections

Published 11:08 am Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Local town and city residents now have the opportunity to run for town council.
The filing period for Polk County’s 2011 municipal elections in Columbus, Tryon and Saluda began last Friday, July 1. Candidates have until noon on Friday, July 15 to file at the Polk County Board of Elections in the Womack Building in Columbus.
The filing period for the City of Landrum has also begun. The deadline is Aug. 8, and candidates can file at Landrum City Hall.
Columbus and Tryon voters will choose mayors in November’s municipal election.
Columbus and Landrum have three council seats open, and Tryon and Saluda have two open council seats each.
As of Tuesday, July 5 at noon, no one had filed for a municipal seat in any area town.
In Columbus, current Mayor Eric McIntyre’s seat is open, as well as the council seats of Michael Gage, Richard Hall and Ernie Kan. Gage has said he will not seek re-election this year.
In Landrum, the council seats of Jon Matheis, Randy Wohnig and Joyce Whiteside are open.
In Saluda, the council seats of John Morgan and Leon Morgan are open.
Tryon’s open seats include those held by current Mayor Alan Peoples and current council members Austin Chapman and Roy Miller.
This year’s election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 8.
In Polk County, the last day to register to vote is Oct. 15 at 5 p.m.
In Landrum, the last day to register is Oct. 8.

Open seats in Thermal Belt 2011 municipal elections
Mayor: Currently held by Eric McIntyre
Three council seats
Currently held by:
• Michael Gage
• Richard Hall
• Ernie Kan

Three council seats
Currently held by:
• Jon Matheis
• Joyce Whiteside
• Randy Wohnig

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Two council seats
Currently held by:
• John Morgan
• Leon Morgan

Mayor: Currently held by Alan Peoples
Two council seats
Currently held by:
• Austin Chapman
• Roy Miller