Second Wind Hall of Fame inducts 17 new members

Published 2:35 pm Wednesday, October 13, 2010

The 2010 annual banquet of the Second Wind Hall of Fame was held on October 1 at Tryon Estates to recognize and celebrate the induction of 17 new members whose outstanding community volunteer services qualified them for that honor. They joined the ranks of more than 250 volunteers who have been similarly honored over the past 30 years.

The roster of new inductees, and their sponsoring organizations, include: Jack Carey (Habitat for Humanity), Dave Cornelius (Rotary Club of Tryon), Robert L Dick (Rotary Club of Tryon), Bob Dockendorf (Pacolet Area Conservancy), Don Eifert (Foothills Equestrian Nature Center), Hugh Hursey (Community Chorus), Ann Inks (Tryon Garden Club), Wayne Inks (Polk Vocational Services), Robert Lair Jr (House of Flags Museum), Nancy McPherson (American Association of University Women), Richard Rinehart (Polk Vocational Services), Loren Smith (Tryon Fine Arts Center), Ronald Smith (Hospice of the Carolina Foothills), James M. Sutherin (Habitat for Humanity), Paul Sutherland (House of Flags Museum), Judith Warden (Tryon Fine Arts Center), and Manfred Walter (Community Chorus).

President Larry Poe asked each of the current members to be diligent about recognizing other outstanding community volunteers. Every current member is authorized to initiate the evaluation process with the board of SWHF for a deserving candidate. He pointed out that each of us is here today because some one person took the initiative to bring recognition to our volunteer efforts.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Poe announced that two scholarship grants had been given this year to Lance Smith to assist him in seminary education. Comedienne Pam Stone, the program speaker, kept the 120 attendees in stitches for 30 minutes following the banquet.