Commissioner candidate forum sponsored by AAUW on Oct. 7

Published 12:41 pm Tuesday, October 5, 2010

All candidates on the ballot for Polk County Commissioner have agreed to be present for a forum open to the public on Thursday, October 7 at 7 p.m. at the Womack Building Courtroom in Columbus.

In the formal session, the candidates will answer pre-written questions pertaining to governance issues in Polk County. The public is invited to send questions for consideration to Anna Pack Conner or Barie Baker at A box for questions will also be available at the entrance to the courtroom.

The candidates have been asked to remain after the formal session to meet and greet those with specific comments and questions. Candidates on the ballot are: Ray Gasperson, Margaret Johnson, Tommy Melton, David Moore, Ted Owens, Tom Pack, Warren Watson and Benny Smith.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

This is the fourth opportunity in recent years that the Area Association of University Women (AAUW) Tryon Branch has sponsored this event of public interest. The moderator for the event is Anna Pack Connor, the forum chairperson is Barie Baker and the president of AAUW is Susan Penfold. People who join AAUW at this event may do so at half of the regular cost of national dues.

The forum is presented as non-partisan and is sponsored by a non-partisan organization and is open to all Polk County residents.

article submitted