Foothills Music Club announces scholarship winners

Published 3:15 pm Friday, May 14, 2010

The Foothills Music Club takes pride in announcing its 2010 scholarship winners.

For the purpose of encouraging young musicians to continue their studies, funds are made available annually by the club for qualifying students. Applications are accepted from students who have studied a minimum of two years and are of high school age. A panel of judges then hears each individual play or sing a piece of his/her choice, particularly noting the performers musical and technical interpretation. The financial award can be applied to the cost of lessons, purchase of music, or repair/purchase of instruments. In 2010, a total of $2,050 is being awarded to 11 students.

Two first place winners were selected this year, Troy Brooks, saxophone, and Ben Stockdale, percussion. Both are residents of Tryon and students at Polk County High School. Clayton Carey, a percussionist at PCHS and a Tryon resident, was also a top winner.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Additional recipients of financial recognition were Isaac McCullough and Kaytee McCullough, pianists, and Cabot Lee Petoia, violinist, all of Tryon.

Other scholarship winners were Jonathan McClay, trumpet, and Lukas Sappenfield, baritone, both of Bostic, N.C.; Aya Matsui, piano, Campobello, S.C.; Elizabeth Shanahan, voice, Tryon, N.C.; and Liana Stadelmann, saxophone, Landrum, S.C.

The Foothills Music Club is an affiliate of the Tryon Fine Arts Center and has a membership of persons dedicated to sustaining and enriching their own musical talents, whether vocal or instrumental, through solo and/or ensemble performances. Support for area student musical talent has been on-going since the beginning of the FMC in 1988. To date, a total of over $30,000 has been awarded to young musicians in the area.

Meetings of the FMC resume in October 2010. Membership information is available by contacting Rita Stobbe at 859-5964.