Glassy Mountain Fire Department names 2009 award recipients for community service

Published 2:40 pm Wednesday, March 31, 2010

The Glassy Mountain Fire Department recently named its 2009 award recipients for service to the community.

The Troy Cecil Pruitt Firefighter of the Year Awards for 2009 were presented to Jason Sprouse of Travelers Rest, named Volunteer of the Year Award and Jared Ferrill, of Inman, named Career Firefighter of the Year Award. The Officer of the Year Award was presented to Lt. Ron Messer of Landrum and the Team Award was presented to the Glassy Mountain Team including Gary Safreed, Chip Orum, Dennis Geagan, RT Ford, Larry Rechnagel, Charlie Maxfield, Gary Pipes, Ed Harmon, Jack DePriester, Jim Stehlik, John Ball, Lane Land, Dave Malak, Mark Pfeil and Lt Ron Messer, all from Landrum. The awards were presented by Chief Bryan Riebe during Glassy Mountain Fire Departments Annual Awards Banquet.

We are very proud of all our dedicated firefighting staff both career and volunteers. They work hard throughout the year training to continually hone their skills so they will be at their best when called, Chief Riebe said. Those selected were honored for their outstanding meritorious service to our community.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Many folks may not know that we also need help from citizens who can provide support to the district such as mechanical, electrical, technical, legal assistance, photographer, videographer, etc – it doesnt have to be fighting fires. We are always in need of more volunteers – firefighters and first responders – especially as our community continues to grow, Riebe said.

For more information on how to become part of the team, contact Riebe at 864-895-4306 or go to our website at The department has many job opportunities available other than fighting fires.