Columbus reunites planning, zoning boards

Published 11:40 pm Tuesday, March 30, 2010

After a year of separation, the Town of Columbus council reunited its planning and zoning boards last week following a public hearing.
The town split the one board into two last year after disagreements with its planners over new ordinances.
Council decided to make two boards, appointed the existing board members to the zoning board of adjustments and appointed a new planning board. However, the town found it difficult to find enough volunteers for planning.
Last Thursday council approved the recombination as well as an amended ordinance stating that members to the planning and zoning board complete training as soon as possible following their appointment.
Columbus has had full planning and zoning boards recently, but a couple of members served on both boards. Since, planning board and zoning board member Eric McIntyre was elected town Mayor. Ernie Kan, a zoning board member, is also now an elected council member.
The joined board has yet to be determined, but so far appointed members include Joan Scoggins, Mary Shambaugh, Kathleen Nowakowski and Christopher Rome. One regular seat as well as two alternate seats remain open.
The Town of Tryon also recently combined its planning and zoning boards, citing its troubles trying to keep enough volunteers for two boards and a dearth of zoning board issues.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox