Deadlines approach for primaries

Published 5:03 pm Friday, March 26, 2010

Deadlines are approaching for the May 4 Primary in North Carolina and the June 8 Primary in South Carolina.

South Carolina candidates have until next Tuesday, March 30, to file for this years election. The last day to register to vote in the S.C. Primary is May 8.
In North Carolina, voters have until April 9 to change party affiliation before the Primary.
Early voting begins for the N.C. Primary on April 15 and continues through May 1.
The last day to register for absentee ballots in writing is April 27 in North Carolina.
Voters in Polk County will make choices in several Primary elections this year. The following is a list of candidates in Primary races.
U.S. Senate
Marcus Williams of Lumberton, Wilma Worthy of Gastonia, Elaine Marshall of Raleigh, Ken Lewis of Chapel Hill, Susan Harris of Old Fort, James Cunningham of Lexington
Larry Linney of Charlotte, Wesley Jones of Lake Toxaway, James Burks of Asheboro, Richard Burr of Winston-Salem (incumbent).
U.S. House Dist. 11
Aixa Wilson of Asheville, Heath Shuler of Waynesville (incumbent)
Kenneth West of Hayesville, Gregory Newman of Hendersonville, Jeffery Miller of Hendersonville, Edward Krause of Marion, James Howard of Franklin, Dan Eichenbaum of Murphy.
Polk County Board of Commissioners (3 seats)
Ray Gasperson (incumbent), Ricky McFalls, Margaret Johnson, Benny Smith
Harry Denton, David Moore, Ted Owens, Tom Pack
Polk County Sheriff
Dennis Bishop, Gregg Osteen, Nathan Shields
Polk County Democrats will not have a Primary election for sheriff because incumbent Donald Hill is unopposed.
Polk voters also will not have Primary elections for Polk County Clerk of Court, N.C. Senate District 48, N.C. House District 113 and District Attorney District 29B.
Incumbent Charlene Owens (D) is unopposed for Clerk of Court.
Incumbent Republican N.C. Senator Tom Apodaca of Hendersonville and his Democratic challenger Christopher Dixon of Arden do not face any challengers from their own parties.
Incumbent N.C. Rep. David Guice of Brevard is unopposed in House District 113 and Incumbent Republican District Attorney Jeff Hunt is unopposed for District 29B.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox