Campobello-Gramling speller headed to national bee

Published 6:51 pm Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Olivia Jones, a 7th grader at Campobello-Gramling School will be going to Washington, D.C. to compete in the Scripps National Spelling Bee, to be held June 2-4 in the nations capital.
Jones earned a spot in the national spelling bee when she won the Regional Spelling Bee Saturday at the University of South Carolina Upstate Performing Arts Center.
When the last word was called, and the last syllables sounded out, Jones was the winner, having correctly spelled “tahini” and “facetious.” Jones said the hardest word was “daffodil” in the first round and the easiest was “gulag.”
She gives credit to her mother and grandmother for helping her prepare for the event. This is not the first experience. When Jones was in fourth grade, she finished in second place.
Jones will represent the upstate and District One when she competes in the all-expenses paid trip.
John Hodge, her principal at Campobello-Gramling School said, “We are so proud of Olivia and proud for our school and district. She is an outstanding student and will represent our area because she is such a great young lady!”
Until recently, District One Schools held its own spelling bee, and the winners went on to a regional spelling bee for a chance to go to Washington, DC, for top spelling honors. The format changed, and school winners attend a regional spelling bee sponsored by the Herald Journal where over 70 competitors spell obscure, difficult, and sometimes easy words that become the hardest to spell.
Other District One students who competed in Saturdays spelling bee are:
Campobello-Gramling School (Elementary): Bethany Ghent, winner; Logan Hinn, alternate
Holly Springs-Motlow: Trinity Chapman, winner; Dylan Cannon, alternate
Inman Elementary School: Dilpreet Singh, winner; Lauren Bagwell, alternate
Inman Intermediate School: Jerome Sao, winner; Holden Brown, alternate
New Prospect Elementary School: Nathan Walden, winner; Maddie Mayfield, alternate
O.P. Earle Elementary School: Grace Furman, winner; Emma Phillips, alternate
Landrum Middle School: Lee Jackson, winner; Kimberly Upton, alternate
Campobello-Gramling School (Middle): Olivia Jones, winner: alternate, Katie Johnson
Mabry Middle School: Olivia Savage, winner; Christina Knox, alternate

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox