Walker remains chair of Polk BOC

Published 2:06 pm Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Cindy Walker will retain her position as chair of the Polk County Board of Commissioners.Commissioners approved Monday by a 3-2 vote keeping Walker as chair for one more year. Commissioner Warren Watson also received a nomination for the chairmanship.Walker voted for herself and was joined by commissioners Ray Gasperson and Rene McDermott. Commissioner Tommy Melton and Warren Watson voted for Watson to be chair.Gasperson will be taking over Watsons former position of vice-chair. He received votes from Walker and McDermott in addition to himself. Commissioner Tommy Melton and Warren Watson voted for Watson to be chair. Walker said she is honored to be chosen to hold the chair position for the second year in a row. Walker was the top vote getter for commissioners in 2008 and has held the position of chair since that election. I feel proud of this board and all weve accomplished, Walker said Monday.She listed several accomplishments the board has made over the past year, including the following: Approving a water extension policy Purchasing Lake Adger Adopting a mountain and ridgeline ordinance Creating a local sedimentation and erosion control ordinance that is currently in process with the state Moving the Meeting Place senior center to a better location Creating an adult day care building that is almost ready to open Starting a mobile recycling unit service and school recycling trailers Choosing a new department of social services location Negotiating with a solar panel company Revising the countys subdivision ordinance Creating a comprehensive plan Creating a committee to work with St. Lukes Hospital and providing financial assistance to the hospital Beginning an affordable housing solution project Approving a solid waste management plan Reducing the countys debt by 30 percent Reducing the countys tax rate.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox