Landrum brings home cross country state championships

Published 2:57 pm Tuesday, November 10, 2009

When a Landrum High School team wins a state championship, the returning bus carrying the team along with the convoy of families and supporters are led by police escorts with flashing blue lights until the bus and convoy reaches Landrum.

When the team reaches Landrum, team members mount fire trucks for the celebratory parade through downtown Landrum. On Saturday November 7, with sirens blaring on the fire trucks and other EMS vehicles. There was a an ear-splitting parade honoring both the Landrum High School girls cross country and the boys cross country track teams which earlier that day had won state championships.

Only seven runners per team are allowed to run in the state championship, with scores of only the top five runners of each team counting for the teams score. Points are calculated according to the finish order of the runner.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The first place runner is scored one point, the second place runner is scored two points, and so on. The lowest score is the winning score.

The course for the state cross country championship is a 5K course at the Sandhills Research Park in Columbia. Twenty-four teams entered the girls Class A/AA competition. The LHS girls team scored 42 points and won as the State Champion Class A/AA Girls Cross Country Team.

Samantha Waters, with a second place finish scored 2 points; Sara Cash finished fourth with a score of 4 points.

Finishing in the eleventh, twelfth and thirteenth place were Lauren Pitts, Ciera Belue and Elizabeth Walter. All five of the LHS girls top finishers were named to the 2009 Girls All-State Cross Country team. Alisha Belue and Rachel Furman also finished.

Seventeen team entered in the boys Class A competition. The LHS boys team scored 43 points and won as the State Champion of Class A Boys Cross Country Team.

Cody Ridley, with a fourth place finish scored 4 points, J. J. Carruth with a seventh place finish scored 7 points. Kenneth Human placed ninth with 9 points. followed by Seth Kemp with 11 points, JR Jackson with 12 points and Mike Prather with 14 points. Jackson with 12 points. and Mike Parther with 14 Ridley, Carruth, Human, Kemp, Jackson and Prather were named to the 2009 Cross Country State Champion team. Danny Bruce was seventeenth.