Former Columbus planning board members take elected positions

Published 5:00 pm Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Two members of the former Columbus Planning Board, which clashed with town council last year, have moved up to elected positions.

Eric McIntyre takes over as the town&squo;s new mayor, replacing incumbent Kathleen McMillian, who had served as the town&squo;s mayor from 1983 to 1990 and again from 2002 to present.

McIntyre captured 119 votes, or 61 percent of the vote, while McMillian received 75 votes.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The race for the three open seats on town council was closer.

Incumbent Margaret Metcalf was the top vote getter with 127 votes, followed by incumbent Michael Gage with 120 and newcomer Ernestine Kan with 114. &bsp;

Kan also was a member of the town&squo;s former planning board, which town council dissolved following a dispute. The town appointed nearly all of the planning board members to a newly created zoning board and later also to a new planning board.

Both McIntyre and Kan have been critical of how the town council received ordinance recommendations from the planning board and how it handled the changes made to the planning board.

David Weiss, who also criticzed town council on those issues, was the fourth highest vote getter with 87 followed by incumbent Ricky McCallister with 83.

Richard Hall, who was not up for reelection this year, is the other member of the the town&squo;s four-member town council.