Twenty candidates file for nine open seats in municipal elections

Published 3:49 pm Tuesday, July 21, 2009

The only seat with just one candidate is Tryon mayor; incumbent Alan Peoples is uncontested.

The municipal election filing period ended Friday with a few more candidates filing on the last day. Incumbents Dennis Durham and Jim Scott filed for the council race in Tryon late last week, as did Wim Woody and Seth Davis.

The Saluda mayor will be challenged by current Saluda councilman John Morgan.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

David Weiss also filed late last week to run for Columbus council.

In Columbus, current mayor Kathleen McMillian will be challenged by Eric McIntyre. Incumbent Columbus council members Michael Gage, Ricky McCallister and Margaret Metcalf will be challenged by Ernie Kan and Weiss.

In Saluda, incumbent mayor Rodney Gibson will be challenged by Morgan and Fred Baisden. The Saluda council seats of incumbents Laura Fields and John Kinard will be challenged by George Sweet and William H. &dquo;Hop&dquo; Foster.

In Tryon the incumbent council seats of Durham and Scott will be challenged by Doug Arbogast, Davis and Woody.

The deadline to file as a candidate in the municipal elections was noon last Friday. All incumbents in all three towns did file for re-election.

The election will be Nov. 3.