Arbogast first to file for Tryon Town Council seat

Published 4:46 pm Thursday, July 16, 2009

The deadline for filing for this year&squo;s municipal election is tomorrow at noon. Candidates can file at the Polk County Board of Elections Office located in the Womack building in Columbus.

So far, 13 residents in the county&squo;s three towns have filed to run for town and city council.

In Columbus, incumbent Mayor Kathleen McMillian has filed as well as incumbent council members Michael Gage, Ricky McCallister and Margaret Metcalf. The incumbents will be challenged by newcomer Ernie Kan, who also filed to run for council.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In Saluda, incumbent mayor Rodney Gibson has filed for re-election and is being challenged so far by newcomer Fred Baisden. Both incumbent council members, Johnnie Kinard and Laura Fields, have also filed in Saluda and are being challenged so far by newcomers George Sweet and William H. &dquo;Hop&dquo; Foster.

The municipal elections in Tryon, Columbus and Saluda will be held this year on Nov. 3.