Election filing in Polk begins Feb. 10

Published 10:39pm Thursday, February 6, 2014

by Leah Justice

Polk County residents have a chance beginning on Monday, Feb. 10, to throw their names in the hat for county and some state and federal offices.

Election filing begins Monday, Feb. 10 at noon and will close Friday, Feb. 28 at noon.

County seats up this year include three county commissioner seats, the clerk of court, sheriff and four seats on the board of education.

Other open seats include for U.S. Congress 11th district, 48th state senate, 113 state house, 29-B district attorney, supreme court chief justice, supreme court associate justice, court of appeals, 29-B superior court judge and soil and water district.

County commissioner seats open this year include the seats of Ray Gasperson (D), Keith Holbert (R) and Ted Owens (R).

Current Polk County Sheriff Donald Hill (D) is up for re-election as well as current Polk County Clerk of Superior Court Pam Hyder (D).

Open Polk County Board of Education seats include Geoff Tennant (Columbus), Sherry Page (Green Creek), James Cowan (Tryon) and Judy Jackson (Coopers Gap).

Candidates wishing to file may do so at the Polk County Board of Elections Office, located on the second floor of the Womack building on Courthouse Street in Columbus.

Candidates for state and federal offices, including for U.S. Senator, U.S. House of Representatives, district attorneys, justices of the Supreme Court, judges of the court of appeals, judges of the superior court and judges of the district courts must file with the state board of elections in Raleigh.

Anyone with questions regarding filing can call the Polk County Board of Elections Office at 828-894-8181.

Editor's Picks