Presidential candidates on the N.C. primary ballot

The State Board of Elections today announced that 27 presidential candidates will appear on North Carolina’s presidential primary ballot. The North Carolina presidential primary will be held on Tuesday, March 15.


“We encourage every eligible voter to participate in the election process,” said Executive Director Kim Westbrook Strach. “With absentee voting just weeks away, we are excited about the upcoming election.”


North Carolina law requires the order of names appearing on the primary ballot to be chosen by random selection. Below are the names of the Republican, Democratic and Libertarian presidential candidates spelled as the will appear on the ballot.



Mike Huckabee

John R. Kasich

Rand Paul

Marco Rubio

Rick Santorum

Donald J. Trump

Jeb Bush

Ben Carson

Chris Christie

Ted Cruz

Carly Fiorina

Jim Gilmore



Martin J. O’Malley

Bernie Sanders

Hillary Clinton

Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente



John David Hale

Cecil Ince

Gary Johnson

Steven Elliott (Steve) Kerbel

Darryl W. Perry

Austin Petersen

Derrick Michael Reid

Jack B. Robinson, Jr.

Rhett Rosenquest Smith

Barbara Joy Waymire

Marc Allan Feldman


North Carolinians will head to the polls for a primary on March 15, though it has traditionally been held in May. The legislature passed a bill to shift the primary date and it was signed into law by Governor Pat McCrory last fall.


As we approach the March 15 primary, here are some important dates to keep in mind.


Absentee voting begins Monday, Jan. 25.


The regular voter registration deadline is Friday, Feb. 19. Same-day registration is also available during the one-stop early voting period, subject to ongoing litigation.


One-stop early voting runs Thursday, March 3 to Saturday, March 12 at 1 p.m.


The North Carolina State Board of Elections is the state agency charged with overall responsibility for administration of the elections process and campaign finance disclosure in North Carolina. The office of the State Board of Elections works in conjunction with County Board of Elections offices to ensure that elections are conducted lawfully and fairly.


For additional information visit the North Carolina State Board of Elections website,

– Submitted by Jackie Hyland


NCDOT seeks input on future transportation projects


Former Polk County teacher found guilty of indecent liberties with a student


Landrum Council reviews proposed budget, potential property tax increase sparks debate


Tryon Fire Department responds to fuel spill on N. Trade St.


High-speed motorcycle chase ends with fatality


Landrum woman dies after crash on North Blackstock Rd.


Polk County man sentenced to 21 years for child pornography scheme


St. Luke’s Hospital exploring new partnership with AdventHealth


Man arrested in connection to shooting in Tryon


Public hearing on Polk County budget scheduled for Monday


Nashville’s Alice Wallace wraps up TFAC’s Amphitheater Series


Tryon Town Council meets to review budget, plans key community projects


Polk County declares third week of May as ‘EMS Week’


Death investigation underway after body found near Landrum


Columbus fire chief asks town council for tax increase


Runoff elections for Republican primaries come to a close


Polk County Board of Commissioners discuss 2024-2025 budget


Polk County launches community listening sessions in response to the opioid epidemic


Pea Ridge man found not guilty in Polk County shooting


Landrum dogs declared vicious, owner ordered to cover expenses


Continuing our travelogue


TACS to host ‘Penland Pottery Pilgrimage’


Local film production crew begins shooting documentary at Outer Banks


LOCAL VOLUNTEERS HONORED: Second Wind Hall of Fame welcomes Don Dicey and Greg Miner