No races in Landrum or Campobello

Published 9:37 pm Wednesday, August 25, 2021

Filing closes for Spartanburg County Municipal election

LANDRUM—There will be no races this year in either the Landrum or the Campobello municipal election. 

Filing recently closed to sign up for the 2021 municipal election and only incumbents filed for the City of Landrum and there is no race in the Town of Campobello for either the mayor or council positions. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The mayor and 2 council seats are up for re-election in the Town of Campobello this year and current councilman Jason Shamis filed for the mayor seat while current mayor Philip Wilds did not file for re-election. Newcomer Aaron Ash and incumbent Reitha Stevenson filed for the 2 open council seats. 

In Landrum, all the incumbents filed with no challengers. 

Incumbent Mayor Bob Briggs filed for re-election along with city council members Tammy Cox, Daniel Prince and Billy Inman for their 3 open seats and no challengers. 

This year’s election will be held on Nov. 2. 

Polk County’s filing date has also ended for the municipal election with only one race in all of the county’s 3 towns. The City of Saluda will have a race between incumbent mayor Fred Baisden and challenger and newcomer Tangie Morgan. Only incumbents filed for city council seats in Saluda, only incumbents filed for the mayor and council seats in Tryon and Columbus has only incumbents except one newcomer for a council seat as current councilman Robert Williamson did not file for re-election this year.