Polk County Board of Commissioner Feb. 19 agenda

Published 11:34 pm Sunday, February 18, 2018

Editor’s note: following is the agenda for the Polk County Board of Commissioner meeting on Monday, Feb. 19. The meeting begins at 7 p.m. in the R. Jay Foster Hall of Justice, located on the second floor of the Womack building in Columbus.



  1. Call to Order – Chairman Johnson

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


  1. Invocation – Commissioner Gasperson


  1. Pledge of Allegiance – Commissioner Melton


  1. Approval of Agenda – Agenda items may be added and/or deleted at this time. Motion to approve.


  1. Consent Agenda
  2. February 5, 2018, regular meeting minute approval.
  3. FY 18/19 Budget Calendar approval.
  4. Drug and Alcohol Policy Addendum approval.
  5. Transportation Title VI Program Plan review.

            Motion to approve consent agenda.


  1. Citizen Comments on Agenda Items


  1. Citizen Comments on Non-Agenda Items




  1. Foothills Housing Partnership Community Update – Vice-Chairman Yoder requested this item be added to the Agenda. David Graham, Executive Director will present the information.




  • Polk County Law Enforcement Facility Construction Update – Paul Luzier, Moseley Architects will present the information.


  1. Business Development Update – Brian Griffin, Business Development Director will be present.




  1. Recreation Advisory Board Bylaws – To consider approval of the Recreation Advisory Board revised bylaws. Jerry Stensland, Recreation Director, will be present. Motion to approve.



  • Manager’s Report 1) Speed Limit change request update from North Carolina Department of Transportation. 2) Saluda Library Teen Space Grand Opening, February 22, 2018, 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm (ribbon cutting at 4:30 pm).
  • Volunteer Boards for Vote – Polk County Planning Board 4 applications, 2 vacancies.


  1. Volunteer Boards for Review – Economic and Tourism Development Commission   1 applicant, 1 vacancy.


  1. Commissioner Comments


  1. Closed Session – Motion to go into closed session for Economic Development.


  1. Return to Open Session- Motion to return to open session.


  1. Adjournment – Motion to adjourn.