Five file for town elections so far

Published 9:54 am Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Polk’s filing deadline July 15
So far, five incumbents in Columbus, Tryon and Saluda have filed for re-election. No newcomers have put their names in the hat yet.
The deadline to file for Polk County’s municipal elections is this Friday, July 15 at noon at the Polk County Board of Elections.
Incumbent Columbus Mayor Eric McIntyre and incumbent Tryon Mayor Alan Peoples were the first to file for re-election last week.
Also filing for re-election were Columbus councilwoman Ernie Kan and Saluda councilmen John Morgan and Leon Morgan.
Columbus councilman Michael Gage has said he will not seek re-election this year, which could leave an open seat if no one signs up to run as a candidate for the seat. If no one files to fill Gage’s seat by this Friday, the filing deadline for that seat will be extended for a period.
Seats open in Polk County’s towns include:
• Columbus mayor (currently held by Eric McIntyre)
• Columbus council seats of Gage, Richard Hall and Kan
• Saluda council seats of John Morgan and Leon Morgan
• Tryon mayor (currently held by Alan Peoples)
• Tryon council seats of Austin Chapman and Roy Miller
Landrum filing is also open until Aug. 8, with the council seats of Jon Matheis, Randy Wohnig and Joyce Whiteside up for election.
This year’s election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 8.
Landrum residents can file as candidates at Landrum City Hall. Polk County residents can file at the Polk County Board of Elections at the Womack Building in Columbus.
In Polk County, the last day to register to vote is Oct. 15 at 5 p.m.
In Landrum, the last day to register is Oct. 8.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox