Archived Story

Municipal filing begins Friday, July 5

Published 6:08pm Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Election filing for the Towns of Columbus and Tryon and City of Saluda begins tomorrow, Friday, July 5 at noon at the Polk County Board of Elections in Columbus.

The last day to file will be Friday, July 19 at noon.

Each municipality has several vacant seats this year, including each mayor position and at least two council seats.

This year’s election will be held on Tuesday Nov. 5. Municipal candidates in Polk County run non-partisan.

Candidate filing packs will be available on June 28 in the elections office for pick up.

Following is a list of vacant seats by municipality:

Town of Columbus:            

Mayor-Eric McIntyre

Council-Margaret Metcalf

Council-Ernestine Kan

Council-Rick McCallister

City of Saluda:

Mayor- Fred Baidsen

Council- John Kinard

Council- George Sweet

Town of Tryon:

Mayor- J. Alan Peoples

Council -William B. “Wim” Woody

Council-Douglas Arbogast


Editor's Picks

Editorial: Divisive prayer alienated citizens

Everyone deserves the right to free speech. Few will argue this point more staunchly than those who work in the newspaper industry.  Even we have ... Read more  | 2 comments

Bathanti will judge Lanier Library’s poetry competition

North Carolina’s Poet Laureate Joseph Bathanti will judge for this year’s Sidney Lanier Poetry Competition. Bathanti is the author of eight books of poetry as ... Read more