An old photo of Tryon Country Clb shows. (photo submitted)
An old photo of Tryon Country Clb shows men playing in a tournament. (photo submitted)

Archived Story

Tryon Country Club added to National Register

Published 4:11pm Friday, February 22, 2013

Tryon Country Club recently became one of the newest listings on the National Register of Historic Places.

The nomination was submitted to the North Carolina Historic Preservation Office in mid-December 2012, pursuant to the diligent efforts of Jane Templeton of Tryon and Clay Griffith of Acme Preservation Services in Asheville, N.C.

The N.C. Historic Preservation Office, part of the NC Department of Cultural Resources, reviewed the submitted materials and determined the nominated property to be worthy of preservation. The club was officially listed in the National Register on Feb. 5, 2013.

The National Register is administered by the National Park Service and is the country’s official, federal list of districts, sites, building structures and objects significant to American history, architecture, archeology engineering and culture, and considered “worthy of preservation.” Addition to the Register “honors the property by recognizing its importance to its community, state or the nation.”

Tryon Country Club is a nine-hole, members-only golf course built on land donated by Emma Payne Erskine. The golf course, the centerpiece of the club, was designed and originally laid out in 1914 by golf course architect, Donald Ross, and was built in 1916-1917.  In the first decade of the 20th century, the golf course site was initially part of a dairy farm, with open pastures interspersed with wooded areas. 

Editor's Picks

Editorial: Divisive prayer alienated citizens

Everyone deserves the right to free speech. Few will argue this point more staunchly than those who work in the newspaper industry.  Even we have ... Read more  | 2 comments

Bathanti will judge Lanier Library’s poetry competition

North Carolina’s Poet Laureate Joseph Bathanti will judge for this year’s Sidney Lanier Poetry Competition. Bathanti is the author of eight books of poetry as ... Read more