More than 3k early votes cast in Polk

Published 9:33am Friday, October 26, 2012

There are three seats open this year on the board of commissioners. Incumbents Renée McDermott (D) and Tom Pack (R) are running to keep their seats, challenged by newcomers Emily Bartlett (D), Russell Mierop (D), Michael Gage (R) and Keith Holbert (R). Current commissioner Cindy Walker did not seek re-election this year.

The clerk of courts position is also open, with acting clerk Pam Hyder (D) running against Marche Pittman (R). Hyder was appointed clerk following the retirement of former clerk Charlene Owens last year.

The other Polk County position up for re-election this year is register of deeds, with incumbent Sheila Whitmire (R) running unopposed.

North Carolina voters will choose several state positions.

Walter Dalton (D), Barbara Howe (L) and Pat McCrory (R) are running for N.C. governor; Linda Coleman (D) and Dan Forest (R) are running for lieutenant governor; Beth Wood (D) and Debra Goldman (R) are running for N.C. auditor and Walter Smith (D) and Steve Troxler (R) are running for commissioner of agriculture.

Other state races include Elaine Marshall (D) and Edward Charles Goodwin (R) for N.C. Secretary of State; June Atkinson (D) and John Tedesco (R) for superintendent of public instruction and Janet Cowell (D) and Steven L. Royal (R) for state treasurer.

Two Polk County residents are running for N.C. House and Senate seats this year.

Polk’s George Alley (D) is running against Chris Whitmire (R) for the N.C. House of Representatives seat for district 113. Polk’s Phil Feagan (D) is running against Ralph Hise (R) for the N.C. Senate seat for district 47.

Polk voters will choose between Patsy Keever (D) and Patrick McHenry (R) for U.S. House of Representatives, District 10.

For Polk’s judicial district 29B, district court judges Mack Brittain and Athena Brooks are running unopposed. Other district court seats are open, including a race between William Cathey and Emily Cowan for the seat currently held by David Fox and a race between Robin L. Bowen and Peter Knight for Knight’s seat.

Early voting continues Monday through Friday at the Polk County Board of Elections Office from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. and at the Mill Spring Fire Department and Green Creek Family Life Center Monday through Friday from noon to 7 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 3 will be the only Saturday locations are open for early voting and will be the last day to vote early. All three locations will be open on Nov. 3 from 9 a.m. until 1 p.m.

The last day to request mail-in absentee ballots in writing is Tuesday, Oct. 30 with those ballots received by the Polk County Board of Elections office by Monday, Nov. 5 by 5 p.m.

Election day is Tuesday, Nov. 6 where all seven Polk polling places will be open from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.

Editor's Picks