Polk’s last day to register to vote is Oct. 12

Published 6:21pm Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Early voting begins Oct. 18
With less than four weeks until the general election, Polk County residents have until this Friday, Oct. 12, to register to vote, with early voting beginning next Thursday, Oct. 18.
The Polk County Board of Elections Office handles registration forms. People may still register during early voting if they vote at the same time.
Friday, Oct. 12 will also be the last day to change party affiliations.
Early voting, or one-stop voting, can be done at three locations. The Polk County Board of Elections office, located on the second floor of the Womack building in Columbus, will offer one-stop voting Monday through Friday between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m.
One-stop voting can also be done at the Mill Spring Fire Department and the Green Creek Family Life Center Monday through Friday from noon to 7 p.m.
The last day of early voting will be on Saturday, Nov. 3, when all three sites will be open from 9 a.m. until 1 p.m.
The general election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 6. All of Polk County’s polling places will be open from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.
The last day to request mail-in absentee ballots in writing is Tuesday, Oct. 30 with those ballots received by the Polk County Board of Elections office by Monday, Nov. 5 by 5 p.m.
The local election includes races for Polk County commissioners and the clerk of court.
There are three seats open this year on the board of commissioners. Incumbents Renée McDermott (D) and Tom Pack (R) are running to keep their seats, challenged by newcomers Emily Bartlett (D), Russell Mierop (D), Michael Gage (R) and Keith Holbert (R). Current commissioner Cindy Walker did not seek re-election this year.
The clerk of courts position is also up for re-election, with acting clerk Pam Hyder (D) running against Marche Pittman (R). Hyder was appointed clerk following the retirement of former clerk Charlene Owens last year.
The other Polk County position up for re-election this year is register of deeds, with incumbent Sheila Whitmire (R) running unopposed.
In addition to voting in the U.S. presidential election, North Carolina voters will choose several state positions.
Walter Dalton (D), Barbara Howe (L) and Pat McCrory (R) are running for N.C. governor; Linda Coleman (D) and Dan Forest (R) are running for lieutenant governor; Beth Wood (D) and Debra Goldman (R) are running for N.C. auditor and Walter Smith (D) and Steve Troxler (R) are running for commissioner of agriculture.
Other state races include Elaine Marshall (D) and Edward Charles Goodwin (R) for N.C. Secretary of State; June Atkinson (D) and John Tedesco (R) for superintendent of public instruction and Janet Cowell (D) and Steven L. Royal (R) for state treasurer.
Two Polk County residents are running for N.C. House and Senate seats this year.
Polk’s George Alley (D) is running against Chris Whitmire (R) for the N.C. House of Representatives seat for district 113. Polk’s Phil Feagan (D) is running against Ralph Hise (R) for the N.C. Senate seat for district 47.
Polk voters will choose between Patsy Keever (D) and Patrick McHenry (R) for U.S. House of Representatives, District 10.
For Polk’s judicial district 29B, district court judges Mack Brittain and Athena Brooks are running unopposed. Other district court seats are open, including a race between William Cathey and Emily Cowan for the seat currently held by David Fox and a race between Robin L. Bowen and Peter Knight for Knight’s seat.

Editor's Picks